What Punishments are there for a DUI in Atlanta?

What Punishments are there for a DUI in Atlanta?

The punishments and penalties that you face for a DUI in Georgia depend on your history of DUI charges. A first-time offender, for instance, will face a different set of penalties than a habitual violator. The guide below outlines the varying degrees of punishments that you could potentially face at each level:

First DUI

The severity of your 1st DUI will affect the outcome, but you are facing the following:

  • Fines: Minimum of $300 plus court costs, fees & surcharges
  • Driver’s License: Suspension with a restricted driving permit
  • Probation: Up to 12 months
  • Imprisonment: Up to 10 days in jail
  • Community Service: A minimum of 40 hours
  • Program Involvement: Substance abuse counseling, DUI Risk Reduction School & MADD Mothers Victim Impact Panel

Second DUI

Charges for a 2nd DUI in Atlanta are even more steep, including:

  • Fines: Up to $1,000 plus court costs, fees & surcharges
  • Driver’s License: Suspension with the surrender of license plate installation of ignition interlock device after 120-day “hard” license suspension
  • Probation: Up to 36 months (minimum of 12)
  • Imprisonment: 90 days to 12 months (could be changed to probation with a minimum 3-day jail sentence)
  • Community Service: 30 days (240 hours)
  • Program Involvement: Substance abuse counseling, DUI Risk Reduction School, photo publication

Third DUI (High and Aggravated Misdemeanor)

  • Fines: Up to $5,000 plus court costs, fees & surcharges
  • Driver’s License: 5-year suspension, interlock device and restricted license available after 2-year window
  • Imprisonment: 120 days to 12 months (could be changed to probation with a minimum 15-day jail sentence)
  • Community Service: 30 days (240 hours)
  • Program Involvement: Mandatory drug & alcohol treatment, DUI Risk Reduction School, photo publication, habitual violator status

Fourth DUI (Felony)

  • Fines: Up to $5,000 plus court costs, fees & surcharges
  • Driver’s License: 10-year suspension, surrender of license plate
  • Imprisonment: Up to 5 years (less time served on probation)
  • Community Service: 60 days (480 hours)
  • Program Involvement: Mandatory drug & alcohol treatment, DUI Risk Reduction School, photo publication, status of a habitual violator and convicted felon

Habitual Violator

If you acquire too many traffic offenses in a specific time frame Georgia will label you a habitual violator. A habitual violator is prohibited from driving, and if caught doing so while drunk they are facing the following charges:

  • Fines: Up to $5,000 plus court costs, fees & surcharges
  • Driver’s License: 2-year suspension of license followed by a restricted driver’s license
  • Imprisonment: Up to 5 years
  • Community Service: 30 days (240 hours) – contingent on the length of sentence
  • Program Involvement: Mandatory drug & alcohol treatment, clinical evaluation & treatment, DUI Risk Reduction School, surrender of license plate
  • Other conditions and consequences associated with a felony conviction
DUI Lawyers Atlanta Logo
Let's get started with your FREE consultation